A number of questions.....

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

A number of questions.....

Apologies firstly - I have looked around the forum and kind of got answers to most of these questions, but generally they are worded slightly differently and it's good to have everything in one place....

1) Our AST commenced in 2006 for 12 months after which we got letters from the letting egency saying it would continue with all the same T&Cs etc but we have never signed a new contract. Does that fact, notwithstanding anything else, the we have not signed a brand new AST means that a) we are on a statutory periodic tenancy and therefore required to give 1 months notice rather than two and b) the deposit is not required to be protected under one of the April 2007 schemes?
    2) We have a clause in the AST that says along the lines of 'the tenant is not permitted to run a business from the property without prior consent from the LL...'. I was an IT contractor until recently so had to have a registered business address and I used the rented property. No footfall into the house etc, literally just a registered address. LL is claiming I broke tenancy contract because I didn't get her consent. This is true, hold my hands up on this; didn't read the T&Cs carefully enough. However, does LL have the right to take away deposit because of this? Can't see what financial loss she would have suffered?
    3) The security deposit has been held directly by the LL since we moved into the property nearly 6 years ago. Now we have moved out, the deposit is with the Letting Agency (still under dispute. My question is this - in those 6 years what should the LL have done with our deposit by Law? Held it in a seperate account? Can she claim the interest from it? Should that be ours? Provide annual statement to us etc?

These three are things I have been trying to get a good answer on from all over the net and have failed thus far. Hope you can help!
    Cheers
    Scott