Tenant wants to replace fixtures/fittings but wont accept payment

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tenant wants to replace fixtures/fittings but wont accept payment

Hi there Ive been letting out a flat for 7 years now and earlier this week I experienced a telephone conversation that Im not used to from a tenant. He's new and has been in the property for about a month and he asked if he could change carpets and lino in the bathroom, kitchen and hallway.

I agreed but I said that would like the receipts and will pay the costs, he said that he wouldnt accept any payment as he is requesting the changes.

This obviously sounds good but it made me think whether it gives him any legal grounds if any problems arose and I had to end the tenancy.

Can anyone help me with this? I maybe being a bit over cautios but I just wanted to make sure before he goes ahead and purchases anything.

Many thanks
    Spence

If he pays for them, they are his, and legally he could take them with him when he leaves!

I would never allow a tenant to do any work like this in my property. Even if he does not attempt to remove them when he moves out, you have know way of knowing what the quality of the carpet/lino will be, or how well it will be fitted. I would refuse, and if you feel that replacements like this are necessary, arrange and pay for it yourself.

Comment

Many thanks Lesley.

Are these the only pitfalls that you know of for this or are there any others?? ie. the tenant having rights not to move out.

Spence

Comment

I am fairly sure that a tenant chosing to invest their own money in improvement to your property does not give them any additional rights should you choose to evict them.