Notice Periods

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Notice Periods

I have been renting a property for 16 months. I initially signed a 12 months contract and then signed a new 12 month contract in January 2012 that had the following 6 month break clause;

6 month break clause: it is agreed the tenenant is able to serve one months notice to vacate the property but only after the initial 5 months have been completed. The landlord is able to serve two months notice but only after the initial 4 months have been completed.
    So here we are 4 months in to the new contract and the landlord has used the break clause to serve 2 months notice. I went out and looked for and found a new property that will be available next month. However due to the first line where I have not completed the initial 5 months from this "new" contract date do I still have to serve two months notice?

Am I unable to move and stuck paying rent on the current property for 2 months as I am unable to serve notice(despite the landlord already serving notice)? Basically am I only able to (financially) move on their terms?

**I should note that I am still within the agreed rent date(x2) as they gave a little over two months notice.

Since the first five months have not yet elapsed you cannot serve any notice. As soon as they have, I can see no reason why you should not be able to serve a notice which expires before the landlord's notice.

Comment

Originally posted by Lawcruncher View Post
      Since the first five months have not yet elapsed you cannot serve any notice. As soon as they have, I can see no reason why you should not be able to serve a notice which expires before the landlord's notice.
      Would the 5 months be from January 2011, or does it reset to January 2012 with the new 12 month contract?

Comment

But what is the effect of the notice? The break clause says "notice to vacate the property" not end the tenancy. Is this resolved by the "6 month break clause" heading?