Bathroom unusable in rental flat

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Bathroom unusable in rental flat

My girlfriend and I have been renting a ground floor flat privately for about the past 12 months.

Unfortunately as a result of some dodgy building work in the first floor flat our bathroom and kitchen were badly flooded leading to severe damp and damage to the walls and ceiling. This led to mold growing in the kitchen, bathroom and conservatory.

The landlord has been reasonably good about getting repair work done through his insurers, but they have effectively said that the flat would need to dry out before the building work could be started.

So 6 months down the line we are finally getting the works done, the (only) bathroom has been torn out leaving just the toilet (which is only plumbed in via the outpipe so has to be flushed with a bucket). This means that we are without a flushing toilet, bath, shower, sink or even a door.

The landlord advised us that the work to repair and refit would take about a week, which we were willing to put up with, but the builder has discovered that the beam supporting the wall between the bathroom and kitchen is now effectively rotted through, which means that it will need to be torn down and replaced with a stud wall. Which means that the works will be extended by at least a couple of weeks.

The flat is also covered in a layer of dust throughout as it seems the builders have opened every door that we had closed and are using our living room and conservatory for storing building materials.

What are our rights in terms of getting somewhere to wash and a working toilet - as it stands we have had a couple of days washing at the kitchen sink (which is not ideal when your kitchen is overlooked by the neighbours garden) but it is obviously less than ideal when both myself and my girlfriend work long hours in the city.