Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tenants in common, rent split.

Hi,

I own a flat equally with a friend. He wants to move out and rent out his room. Who is entitled to the rent?

Thanks.

I think that's for you two to negotiate. However, on the face of it, I would say that he is. It's his half of the flat to do with as he sees fit. However, if the new person defaults or breaks something or refuses to pay the council tax, then your flat mate remains liable to cover it.

If the new person was moving in WITH the two of you, it would seem fair to share the income, but they,re not.
    IANAL (I am not a lawyer). Anything I say here is just an opinion, so should not be relied upon! Always check your facts with a professional who really knows their onions.

Comment

You friend cannot rent out his room without your consent. It is only his room in the sense that it is the one he occupies. Both of you own everything. Since your co-operation is needed you can control the terms on which the room is let.

Comment

Personally, I think the rent should be shared equally, as the way I see it, I technically own half of his room.

For those that believe it is his rent, can you answer why he can earn more money from the flat than me, given that we have both taken the same risk? Or put another way, would you enter into an investment 50/50 where your partner would make more money than you?

Comment

Originally posted by AshleyRey
          I'm not totally agree with you. You are right if his and friend rooms have same size.Anyhow they have to negotiate it.
          ashley
          Maybe you can answer the question which I proposed previously, if you think my friend is entitled to all of the rent.

" For those that believe it is his rent, can you answer why he can earn more money from the flat than me, given that we have both taken the same risk? Or put another way, would you enter into an investment 50/50 where your partner would make more money than you? "

Comment