can I get out of a bad deal before it's signed by co-tenant?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

can I get out of a bad deal before it's signed by co-tenant?

Hi, I am a little dupe who signed a contract for a surprisingly cheap one bedroom flat to share with my boyfriend once his company transfers him to London (tomorrow). I viewed a bright quiet place two weeks ago on Saturday, met the landlady and it all seemed a bit shabby but good for its price. Two weeks later upon signing my contract I found out that she is not the landlord - she is sub-renting. The landlord owns the pub downstairs. What pub?, I asked. When I viewed I was not told there was a pub downstairs, I did not see it because we entered through a side gate and there was no noise at all as it was 11 am on Saturday. I just moved in and spent my first Saturday above the pub agonizing - the noise level is impossible. I am a student writing a thesis and I cannot risk my nerves and my work by staying here.
    My boyfriend has not signed the contract yet. I already signed and paid a security deposit and one month's rent. The contract is for 6 months. Can I leave right now? What will I have to pay?

You (the tenant)have signed the AST and moved in (stayed the night) As such you are bound by the AST and resp for property & rent until the fixed term ends.
    You could try & negotiate an early release with LL. She is under no obligation to do so or is entitled to compensation eg cash settlement, say x months rent(max 6) or re-advertising costs and rent until suitable new T can move in.

Boyfriend does not have to sign the AST, unless he wants to be joint & severally liable.
    Try and negotiate a settlement with LL.
    Rent in haste, repent at leisure. Harsh, but LLs are entitled to some min security as well as Ts!

Comment