Court action after posession

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Court action after posession

I have been renting a flat for several years on a periodic assured shorthold tennancy. The tennancy always ran from the first of the month until the end of the month.

In the middle of July the landlord issued me with a section 21 notice which ended on 30th September.

After the 30th September had passed I was still living in the property. In the second week of October I received a claim form from the county court showing that the landlord was claiming for posession and that we could file a defence.

I filed a short defence explaining that the council had comitted to rehousing me.

Then in the first week of November the estate agent that the landlord uses (who I pay rent to and signed contract with) wrote us a letter saying we were in rent arrears in excess of £1000. The breakdown showed the rent was paid for September, but they were asking for two months rent for October and one month's rent for November. They also threatened to 'take posession of the garage' - but we have no garage. They also said that 'a posession notice had been granted and that our 14days notice had expired'.

I wrote back to them saying they had made a mistake.

Later that week the county court setion 21 posession order came though saying we must leave by 18th November. We now have a place to live and will empty the old flat by the 18th November.

But the estate agent has now written to us saying that 'the landlord wishes to advise that she will be persuing you for unpaid rent for October onwards once you have vacated the property'.

Can this be done?? The county court forms showed 30th September as the last date of the tennancy and I was fully paid up until that day. In October we were not bound by contract as it was terminated by them so did not pay any more.