HELP NEEDED PLEASE - compliance with tenancy agreements - a tenant's perspective

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

HELP NEEDED PLEASE - compliance with tenancy agreements - a tenant's perspective

I appreciate that this forum is likely to be used by landlords more than tenants but given my predicament, I would be grateful for any advice/ assistance.

I have been renting properties in the UK since 2005 and have rarely, if ever, had any problems with landlords or letting agents. That said, I moved into a new property 5 weeks ago and am not sure whether I need to take legal advice.

The main issues are as follows:

Redecoration
    The property I am renting was in need of redecorating, including numerous walls to be re-plastered. The work to be done was outlined in the "agreed terms of offer" and the tenancy agreement and in both documents it was stated that the work would be completed by the start of the tenancy agreement.

I have been in the property for one week now and whilst the plaster is now dry, the landlady has advised that she cannot get work started on painting the walls for another week at least, and that this may slip by a a few days.

This means that not only do we (I live with my partner) not know for sure when the work will be done, but we are expected to stay in the apartment whilst the work is being carried out. Fine for me as I work, but my partner is not currently working and is not happy and having 2 men in the property for what is likely to be the best part of a week.

The landlady's husband has already, within the first week, failed to attend 2 scheduled meetings to discuss the colour scheme and when the painting will be done (we only received a text message from the landlady last night) so my confidence in their ability/ desire to adhere to agreed timescales is, as you might imagine, not at all high.

Furnished/ Unfurnished