Section 21 1b Served before tenacy starts?? Please advise

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Section 21 1b Served before tenacy starts?? Please advise

My partner and myself viewed a property 1 month ago which we decided to take through an agent. Because we could not move in until the end of the following month the agent and landlord required a deposit to hold the property which we paid to the agents. When we viewed the property with the landlord they said that they were looking for long term tenants, and this is one of the reasons we wanted to take the property.

Today the lease agreement came through (6 Mths Assured Shorthold Tenancy), but was also joined with section 21 (1) (b) notice requiring possession at the end of the 6 months lease. We have contacted the agents who have said that it is common to do this with all lets now- I have been renting for the last 8 years and moved a number of times and never come across this before and secondly she said that we didn't have to sign it if we opposed it. She said that the Landlord was probably not even aware that the notice had been served.

From your experience

1) Is it normal to serve this document before a tenancy even begins?
    2) Does this mean that potentially the landlord has ideas to want the property back after the 6 months period but is not being honest with us?
    3) With this being served now does this affect how the tenancy would proceed onto a periodic tenancy?

We are both professionals with very good references/ credit history.

Any help and advice would be greatly apprecied!!

This is a very common practice(search for "sword of damocles" on this forum to find out more about it). Basically, it is just so, if you are a problem tenant, you can be evicted at the end of the fixed term ASAP. If you are a good tenant, I wouldn't worry about it too much.

However, I do not think it can be served before you have even moved in...think that may render it invalid. I await correction though.