Water Damage to Property Below - who pays?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Water Damage to Property Below - who pays?

Dear Folks

I have done a search but not been able to find anything…

A colleague of mine has rented a property. She installed a new washing machine, which was professionally fitted. The water pressure has caused a leak on a joint which has caused damage to the property below.

The Landlord’s lawyers has written to her advising that she will be liable to the tune of £1400+.

I was wondering where she stands. Surely the Landlord would have sufficet insurance to cover such damage and my friend would be obliged to pay the excess-fee.

Any ideas or advice?

Andrew at Chesney.org

Please clarify. Is your colleague a tenant and the colleague has installed their own washing machine?

Comment

Sorry...I am new to this.

My colleague is the tennant. She purcahsed the washing machine and took reasonable precautions of having it installed by a "qualified plumber".

The Landord has passed the flat below cliam direct to my friend...

Carpet and vinyl flooring £665
      Two slice toaster £22.49
      Stainless Steel kettle £24.99
      Steam iron £19.99
      Radio £34.99
      Belling Electric Cooker £374.00
      Coffee Maker £34.99
      Vax Vacuum Cleaner £149.99
      Juice Extractor £33.26
      Oli Filled Radiator £43.22
      sandwich Toaster £8.97

In a letter the Landlord has wriiten to the flat below stating (in part):
      "The washing machine in the flat is NOT my property... Miss G??? is responsible...it is not my (landlord) responsibility. It is certainly hoped that the block insurance of [the Flats] will bear the costs of any necessary repairs to the flats affected by the water leak..."

Any HELP would be appreciated.

ANDREW

Comment