Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tenant is in breach: rent arrears, damage, dirt

hello, im very sorry to bother everyone here but i really do need some help
    i am an amateur landlord and i haven't been doing this for a long time. i recently had a tenant who is refusing to pay his rent and refusing to move out. could someone tell me what steps i have to take?
    the reasons are mainly dirtiness, fire safety and something about his 'health being affected' because he won't use the 'unuseable' shower and washing machine!
    i would really appreciate some help here, as i really don't know what to do.
    thank you

Hi there, I've been an amateur landlord too, so don't know a huge amount, but one thing springs to mind.

When you say 'fire safety' do you have a Gas Safety Certificate in force? Is that what your tenant is complaining about? Because it is illegal not to have one.

What is he saying is wrong with the shower and washing machine?

I'm sure people will be along soon who know more than me.

Comment

It is very difficult to comment or help without knowing the specifics of his complaint, and the REAL state of these specifics.
      Any posts by myself are my opinion ONLY. They should never be taken as correct or factual without confirmation from a legal professional. All information is given without prejudice or liability.

Comment

Originally posted by vangryll View Post
        hello, im very sorry to bother everyone here but i really do need some help
        i am an amateur landlord and i haven't been doing this for a long time. i recently had a tenant who is refusing to pay his rent and refusing to move out. could someone tell me what steps i have to take?
        the reasons are mainly dirtiness, fire safety and something about his 'health being affected' because he won't use the 'unuseable' shower and washing machine!
        i would really appreciate some help here, as i really don't know what to do.
        thank you