Tenant has left but his girlfriend remains- let to her?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tenant has left but his girlfriend remains- let to her?

I am quite new to the letting scene and would benefit greatly from any good advice.
    I have a tennent on an AST for 6 months running out 27/12/06, his girlfriend and her two children are also mentioned on the agreement but the AST is in his name only. She does not work
    She has now contacted me saying that he has left her and she wants to stay but will need to pay me via housing benefit and making up any possible shortfall herself.
    I know I must issue him a S21 before the 27th even though I know he is no longer living there - but how do I stand with he, presumably she is abliged to leave on or before the 27/12/06
    Should I consider giving her a AST or would that mean that i am then at the mercy of fair rent tribunals, housing benefit payments etc etc

What is the best thing to do.

Thanks
    Slyfox ( only because Dave was already taken )

I have just read in another thread that you cannot issue an S21 in the first 6 months of an AST is this true ? and if so how do I proceed
    Is it typical to have this type of scenario with your first tenant in your first property ?
    Last edited by slyfox; 23-10-2006, 20:40 PM. Reason: Additional information

You can serve an S21 notice at any time you like, however it must give the tenant at least two months notice and it cannot expire before the end of the fixed period of the AST. Hence, as you correctly state, the notice must be served on or before the 27th.
    Service of this notice will enable you to start court proceedings to evict the tenant and anybody else occupying the property on the 27th. December. The notice should be served at the property in the name of the tenant even though he is no longer in residence.