Letting to Housing Trust- cautionary note!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Letting to Housing Trust- cautionary note!

Some of you may be considering letting to a LA or housing trust

Some of you may already have endured similar experiences

I wanted to outline to those considering such a move my experiences

14 months ago in the teeth of the recession i opted for a 3 year deal with a notting hill housing trust

The drawing up of contracts seemed a haphazard affair
    I am an FSA officer and try always to explore anything vague within a contract

Sadly any assurances I have received have not been founded in fact-or- in writing
    My desperation to let has been costly

From bitter experience it now seems to me that tenancies are granted to the most dysfunctional of society

Of course we all have our rights and expectations............but... it seemed to me that such people needed social skill training and constant supervision

This became even more apparent when my properties rapidly began to deteriorate

I have endured a steady stream of demands from
    Police
    LA authorities
    All wishing to "sanction" the housing trusts tenant

When I call to inspect properties I have -on occasion- needed to take the police with me!

Bringing this up repeatedly with the relevant trust housing officer fails to bring any action; "we have tenants much worse than this"!

Ultimately with the change in HB I have opted to take back my flats

On 9th April I carried out an inspection of a recent handover

The flat had been completely wrecked!

What was not ruined was stolen-everything from bedding to microwaves

The housing trusts only comment; "under a three year agreement this is defined as normal wear and tear"-the fact that we are only 13 months into 3 year contract makes little difference it seems!

It seems i must sue if i expect any redress