Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Letting agents aren't returning my deposit

Hi!
    I was wondering if you guys could provide me with any hints or tips on my current situation. See, I studied in the UK and a letting agency which I contacted from where I am now, Sweden, trying to get my deposit back. I've got proper documentation, and so far they say they've sent 2 cheques (which I waited patiently for), and can't make an electronic transfer to overseas. This has been going on for about 6 months. I think they're pulling my chain though I don't know how to proceed. They say they can only transfer to a UK account or send another cheque. Please help me out.

Thank you,
    Oliver

All they should need is the proper iban account number to be able to make a transfer to you. Don't forget the country code. If that fails ask them for a Western Union transfer.
    I offer no guarantee that anything I say is correct. wysiwyg

Comment

Originally posted by jta View Post
      All they should need is the proper iban account number to be able to make a transfer to you. Don't forget the country code. If that fails ask them for a Western Union transfer.
      Yep. Ask your bank for your account's IBAN and provide it to the agent.
      For Sweden it should be along the lines SEkk BBBB CCCC CCCC CCCC CCCC (B = National bank code, C = account No.)

Any UK bank can transfer abroad using an IBAN. There are fees, but I recall that the sender can select that all fees be paid by the recepient (they'll be deducted from the transferred amount).

Comment

In addition to the above, remember that your contract (and therefore responsibility for the deposit) is with the LANDLORD, not his agent. So, get his contact informantion and start asking him to organise something. If you had to sue for the deposit - it would be the landlord you would sue.

If the agent is a member of ARLA, or a similar organisation, seek their advice.