Lodger's deposit

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lodger's deposit

I've been letting rooms in my home for 12 years. I take a deposit which acts as a bond, and give the lodger a paper receipt. I put the money into my bank account. When they move out, they give me the receipt and I give them their deposit back. No problems with this.... till now.

Lodger who is leaving in two weeks appears to have lost her receipt. I'm not bothered, as I have it on record that her deposit was £140, and wrote this on a recent rent statement I gave her.

She is now asking me for 'a copy of the certificate" where my deposit is being held'. When I told her there is no such thing as a certificate, and what did she mean, she replied that her legal advisers have told her:

'to ask you for the "certificate" reflecting where my deposit is being held as it has to be deposited into a government scheme account, or something like that.'

Goodness knows who her advisers are. Can anyone shed light on what she is on about?

Cheers.

Originally posted by Sussexlandlady View Post
    Can anyone shed light on what she is on about?
    If a tenant has an assured shorthold tenancy, AST, it is the law that their deposit must be protected in a government approved scheme. But because your tenant lives in your house with you, so is a lodger, this does not apply to you.

You can find out about deposit protection in the link below.

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/HomeAndC...cies/DG_189120

Comment

Thank you so much! As I don't have any rental properties, I've no need to keep myself up to date with ASTs and new laws, so had no idea what she is on about. But her legal advisers are, clearly, as ignorant as myself!

Comment

I appreciate that Sussexlandlady views her guests as lodgers, but just to be sure that they are in law Lodgers and not Tenants could you confirm the living arrangements?

Do they use the communal front door to the house, or do they have their own door to an annexe for example?