Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Do I have a case to sue my ex landlord?

Hi there,

I am a student and I feel that my ex landlord evicted me without good cause and generally went about the whole tenancy badly.

The deal was that she owned the house and would live with me (which I know makes it difficult). When we were arranging the move she asked via email for a £100.00 holding fee to hold the room. She also asked for a months rent (£282) which I think is fairly standard. My fiancé paid the £100.00 and I would pay the £282 when I paid my term's rent when I moved in. At this point, I hadn't seen a tenancy agreement. I moved up to the house in October 09 and signed it there - although she had gone to work so I signed it in front of my family and she hadn't signed it at all by then. She had also left out a guarantor form - which she had suggested that my boyfriend became. I was slightly confused at this as I believed this to be a conflict of interests and he doesn't earn a huge amount as he was a student himself.

I paid the deposit with three months rent a few weeks later when my funding came through and I paid it into the same bank account - in my time living there I didn't have to sign anything regarding holding the deposit in different accounts etc. Which I am sure is against the law. The tenancy agreement also doesn't state anything regarding holding my deposit.

In my agreement it stated that utilities would be paid based on what we had used - I was rarely there but still got stung for half the bills. Can I use that in my case? In November, when we tried the heating for the first time, I found out that the radiator in my bedroom didn't work. I reported this to her as we had just had an inspection and when asked if all of the radiators worked, she replied "yes" so it didn't get checked. The radiator wasn't fixed until after New Year 10. And yet still I was billed with half of the bills.