Attractions of new property not as it seems

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Attractions of new property not as it seems

We have been here just over 6 weeks. Our first thoughts on seeing the house was the drive way, drive gates and garage, quite a luxury where we live and because I am an essential car driver it would mean having the car in the garage in the winter and actually being able to drive out instead of digging it out like last year.
    I drive a small 2 door modern car, there is no way at all that I can get the car through the gates and even less chance of getting it in the garage.
    There was an old classic car in there when we viewed the house, they are 8 inches smaller in width than mine.
    I'm really unhappy about this, dont suppose our LL gave it any thought but I'd really like to mention it to him but don't want to cause any problems.

Any thought anyone apart from knocking all the gates and posts down,
    How would you LL feel if it was your property, I don't know what to say.

I don't think your landlord is likely to agree to alterations to the gateway. You made an assumption (like most of us would) that the gateway and garage would be wide enough for your car. The landlord/agent made no suggestion that it would - you just assumed without checking.

For what it's worth - I had a new set of double gates fitted into my own back garden wall some years ago as part of a garden makeover - the size of them never crossed my mind, until I found I couldn't get into my own garden!

Comment

I know I agree, there aren't any other gardens with drives and gates in the area. They've all since been taken down and left open, its such a shame as i have to leave the car outside the gates on the open verge, not really what I had planned.
      Oh well if i don't ask his opinion I wont know!

Comment

If I read this right, you are asking LL about making structural changes to his boundary because of your oversight?