Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Girlfriend on joint tenancy doesn't want to move out

Hi there,

My girlfriend and I have been renting a flat for 9 months when we decided to split up.

During the first 5 months I've been paying solely the rent as she did not have a job. Then she got one and she was supposed to pay half of the rent. But so far she did not (she sorted out her debts).

Anyway now we are splitting up and she refuses to leave and does not want to pay her share of the rent either.

As we are both on the tenancy agreement I really don't know what to do. I think the easiest for me is to give notice (it's a 12 month contract so I can do it soon). But I think I need her agreement as she's on the lease.

Any any idea what could I do ? Can I give notice without her consent ? Is there also a way to force her to pay her share of the rent ?

Arnaud

You can give notice on behalf of you and your girlfriend to end the tenancy at the end of the 12 months. The "Tenant" is the 2 tenants combined - so either of you can do it. Technically, you don't have to give notice, but I think it would make sense in this scenario.

If GF wants to stay, then that is between her and the landlord.

If you have paid a deposit, and expect some/all of it back, then you need to make sure that the deposit on the joint tenancy is refunded in full, and divided as appropriate. Your ex can then use her share (if any) towards a replacement deposit.

Comment

Thanks for your reply.

The full amount of the deposit was paid by myself. So I hope she can't claim anything...

Comment

Originally posted by Snorkerz View Post
        You can give notice on behalf of you and your girlfriend to end the tenancy at the end of the 12 months. The "Tenant" is the 2 tenants combined - so either of you can do it. Technically, you don't have to give notice, but I think it would make sense in this scenario.

If GF wants to stay, then that is between her and the landlord.