Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

who is responsible for blocked sink

Hi All

I'm a newbie here so treat me gently with a simple question, it is just a situation that I have not considered before.

Just some background, I have a flat which I have been renting out for about six years, it is currently let out via an agent. The current tennant has been in for 6 months.

I just got my latest statement from the agent and there is a charge for sending the handyman in for unblocking the sink in the bathroom.

My question is a simple one, should I be paying this as the landlord or is this a cost that should be borne by the tennant?

This is not a major issue but I keep arguing with myself as to who should really foot the bill.

Any thoughts gratefully received thanks

C

Part of being a tenant is the tenant 'acts in a tenant like manner'. This means that he treats the place as he would if he owned it. A minor matter like a blocked sink should be sorted out by him, after all, it's his muck that blocked it. Buy him a plunger.
    I offer no guarantee that anything I say is correct. wysiwyg

Comment

I do believe that is the landlords responsibility.

Comment

I think you probably have to take a bit of a pragmatic approach to it.

Arguably, given the tenant has only been in 6 months, much of what needed clearing out could well have been slowly built up by previous tenants.

Equally, if it blocks again when the same tenant is in there, there's a pretty good argument they should paying the cost (assuming there's no underlying fault with the drains).

Comment

Originally posted by Terry_Baker View Post
          I do believe that is the landlords responsibility.