Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Letting agent going into liquidation

I hope someone will be able to help.

When my girlfriend and I moved into our flat we paid a deposit and two months rent so we would always be ahead by two months. This was because (at the time) I was a student and my girlfriend was waiting to start work. We recently found out that our landlord has changed letting agent and so we were asked to request our deposit and to change from the old agency to the new one.

When we did this we were informed that the agency is going though liquidation and we may not get our money. Luckily our deposit is protected and the new agency confirmed that they will be able to get it transferred.

As for the two months rent we paid, what will happen to it and who will be liable? The landlord has not had it. In addition we were sent a letter to "all known creditors". The new letting agent said that as we are owed the money we are the creditors but may have to pay the money again if we cant get it back. From what I understand shouldn't the landlord be owed the money?

We only have until the 20th of July to send this form which I assume is to apply to be a creditor so any help before then would be greatly appreciated.

I apologise if any of my terminology has been incorrect but this is my first experience renting though a letting agency.

Your only contract is with L. L's agent is in danger of liquidisation- so it shouldn't really affect you at all.
    JEFFREY SHAW, solicitor [and Topic Expert], Nether Edge Law*
    1. Public advice is believed accurate, but I accept no legal responsibility except to direct-paying private clients.
    2. Telephone advice: see http://www.landlordzone.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=34638.
    3. For paid advice about conveyancing/leaseholds/L&T, contact me* and become a private client.
    4. *- Contact info: click on my name (blue-highlight link).

Comment