Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Serving Tennants Notice few issues!

Hi guys

Ive been renting my property out through a LA for about 14 months so the tennancy agreement was on a 12 month fixed and has now moved over too a periodic.

I went round and visited the property as was going to take tennants on as a direct rent cutting out the agency and putting them on a 6 month term.

After speaking to the agents i would have to give them 3 months notice to take tennants on as in the agreement i signed with them.

I told tennants this would be the case and that i would ask the agency to issue a new 6 month contract too them.

After some news over the weekend my circumstances changed and have decided that i would need to move back into the property myself and issue the tennants with the 2 months notice.

I called the LA on the monthly rental annervesary too issue the notice but they said the person who can do this is out of the office so i should drop an email to the tennants myself, I have done this and obviously the tennants are not happy about it.

As i did tell them i would get a new contract sorted out but am now unable to do so and have issued them notice to leave in two month time.

This is a snippet of the email they have sent:

We feel disgruntled due to your lack of progress on arranging the next 6 months tenancy contract as if that had been in place then the sudden change of mind by the landlord could not have taken place and my family would be legally protected from this.

We have sought Legal advice over the offer of 6 months tenancy agreement in writing (email) but then withdrawn before tenancy agreement signed, as to the validity of both a verbal contract and the written offer, as to their legal standing.