Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

deposit protection

Hi everybody,

This is my first time on landlordzone. I became a landlord in October 2009 and as a novice, it has been a very steep learning curve, resulting in attending court last week to defend my lack of knowledge and not protecting the deposit. As soon as I became aware of this I protected the deposit. The county court hearing was stayed waiting on the results of the two high court appeals on 7th May 2010. Does anyone know the percentage of sucess in tenants claiming three times the deposit and also the landlords succeeding in their defence?

Thank you in advance

L

I pressume you protected the deposit with DPS? As things stand right now, you should be fine as the offence is 'non protection' not 'late protection'. This was clarified in Draycott v Hannells Lettings Ltd, and the following quote is from the 'Painsmith Blog'.
    Therefore as things currently stand agents are liable for a failure to register the deposit, late registration does not automatically attract the penalties set out in section 214, and the DPS scheme has no initial requirement that the deposit be registered with it within 14 days of being received
    As you rightly say, Universal Estates v Tiensia and Honeysuckle Properties v Fletcher could change this situation - so fingers Xed!

Comment

Originally posted by Lyndy Wesley View Post
      Does anyone know the percentage of sucess in tenants claiming three times the deposit and also the landlords succeeding in their defence?
      As snorkerz says, assuming you used the DPS (http://www.depositprotection.com/) *AND* provided T with the prescribed information (and kept a copy/proof of posting), then there's a fair chance you won't get penalized.

Percentages don't come into it. It all depends on whether or not the judgments in the cases heard on 7th May overturn Draycott v Hannells.

Keep an eye on the PainSmith blog and this forum for news of the result.

Comment