Landlord abroad - how do I move out?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Landlord abroad - how do I move out?

I've been renting from a private landlord for a few years now, however he moved abroad and told me at the time. He is now tending to a sickly relative.

I am planning on moving soon - he has asked me to get a new tenant and handle the deposit money, while he deals with them over the phone to draw up a new contract.

This is making me very nervous - getting people to view the place is no problem, but I've already run into difficulty explaining the situation.

Is there any sensible way to do this? Surely I'm not the first person to be in a situation like this?

It's better not to get involved- or else both L and T2 might have reasons to sue you. Why be L's unpaid Letting Agent?
    JEFFREY SHAW, solicitor [and Topic Expert], Nether Edge Law*
    1. Public advice is believed accurate, but I accept no legal responsibility except to direct-paying private clients.
    2. Telephone advice: see http://www.landlordzone.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=34638.
    3. For paid advice about conveyancing/leaseholds/L&T, contact me* and become a private client.
    4. *- Contact info: click on my name (blue-highlight link).

Comment

Thanks Jeffrey.

So what is the best way to get out of this then?

Comment

Originally posted by 1elle View Post
        Simply write to L and decline his 'job offer'. Leave the premises when your letting ends.
        1. Public advice is believed accurate, but I accept no legal responsibility except to direct-paying private clients.
        2. Telephone advice: see http://www.landlordzone.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=34638.
        3. For paid advice about conveyancing/leaseholds/L&T, contact me* and become a private client.

Comment

Just give the landlord your notice and move out as usual. If asked, say that you have been given legal advice that you are not to get involved with finding a new tenant etc.

Comment