Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Section 8 Notice help

Hi,

I'm after some help regarding ending an assured short term tenancy before the due date.

Please bear with me as I'm new to this.

I agreed to rent an apartment to my 18 year old neice and her friend (i know i know!!). They signed a joint tenancy agreement which started on 1st November 2009 running until 1st November 2010.

However my neice has got up to her eyeballs in debt and can no longer afford to live there. This leaves us with her friend. We have offered her the chance to carry on the tenancy by moving in a friend, or her boyfriend (of which i shall come back to later) but she has said she can't sfford to carry on the lease on her own (understandable) and doesnt know of anyone to move in with her.

We have had numerous problems with both my neice and her friend over the course of the 7 months they have been renting and as such we simply want to end the tenancy and get in people who can pay and hopefully will cause us far less hassle.

I am planning on serving notice via a Section 8 Notice under grounds 11, 12, 13, 15 and possibly 14 which i may add later if needed.

ground 11 - they have paid the rent late on 3 months out of the 7 months so far.

ground 12 - the friend has moved her boyfriend in without my knowledge and despite me asking for him to move out he has carried on living there. they have had a pet in the apartment (which has now been removed) despite it being made clear that it is against the terms of lease for the block.

ground 13 - the laminate flooring has been damaged after a party and now needs repairing or replacing.

ground 15 - a large mirrored bathroom cabinet had the door mirror broken

ground 14 (possibly added later) - they have allowed smoking of drugs within the flat (obviously i dont want to use this one of at all necessary as i dont want to get either of them into trouble, they are typical students!!, i just want them out)

so my question is: