rent Due Date

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

rent Due Date

Apologies if this sounds like a stupid question; however I am new to this.

We are just in the process of letting our flat to a new tenant and she will move in on 16th July with 6 weeks deposit and a month's rent in advance.

1. When is month 2's rent due?

2. What date is the month due every month? I would prefer to receive the rent a tthe beginning of the month as that is when my mortgage is due? How can I arrange the rent payment schedule to acccomodate this?

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks

1. 16th of every month.
    2. I'll let someone more experienced answer that.

Comment

Originally posted by lineswhite View Post
      Apologies if this sounds like a stupid question; however I am new to this.

We are just in the process of letting our flat to a new tenant and she will move in on 16th July with 6 weeks deposit and a month's rent in advance.

1. When is month 2's rent due?

2. What date is the month due every month? I would prefer to receive the rent a tthe beginning of the month as that is when my mortgage is due? How can I arrange the rent payment schedule to acccomodate this?

Any advice appreciated.

Thanks
      1. 16th August
      2. 16th of each month (in advance)

I strongly recommend you keep to that - it is a lot simpler for the tenant and it saves confusion when serving notices. Why not just have it paid in by 16th, don't spend it, then pay your mortgage on 1st as usual?

The other option is to synchronise rent payments with your mortgage by asking T to pay half a month's rent on 16th August, then start paying each month on 30/31st (ie first full payment on 31st Aug for Sept), then half a month again before they move out. Seems unnecessarily complicated.