T in arrears with rent- what action can L take?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

This is my first time as being a landlord and my tenant is now 2 months is arrears he keeps promising to pay but always has an excuse when the payment is due to come out.

What is the best thing to do ? I'm hoping he will pay up up what he owes then i can transfer it on to a managed service with the estate agents so they can deal with the rent issues in the future

What would the best course of action be if he dosent pay his arrears ?

I would be grateful for any advice

Thanks

evict

start eviction proceedings, do not waste time. Depending on you AST and dates, either s8 or s.21. The day they are late you have to be very hard on them, almost aggressive but legally. Tenants in general do not care about you or your property to them its just a roof over their head!

Comment

Originally posted by d_83 View Post
      This is my first time as being a landlord and my tenant is now 2 months is arrears he keeps promising to pay but always has an excuse when the payment is due to come out.

What is the best thing to do ? I'm hoping he will pay up up what he owes then i can transfer it on to a managed service with the estate agents so they can deal with the rent issues in the future

What would the best course of action be if he dosent pay his arrears ?

I would be grateful for any advice

Thanks
      If the rent is <25K pa, and the property is in E&W, then you can issue S8 grounds 8/10/11 as soon as there are two months owing, that means that where there is one month unpaid and the next rent is not paid on the due date, so one month and one day = S8. You will be able to start court proceedings after 14 days.