joint and several liability

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

joint and several liability

Hi there , im a student about to enter into a tennancy agreement with 4 other students . As the law student im being asked about the terms of the contract etc by my fellow students, even though i havent studies landlord and tennant law yet so apart from what i can research in my own time im being very carefull in what i say to them in case they come back later and blame me if things go wrong .

One of the problems my other students are having trouble grasping is the Joint and several liability aspect of the tennancy agreements , (I think a few peoples gurantors are also unhappy about signing a gurantor form to gurantee such an agreement ) I think they understand the full ramifications of it but are not satisfied that it is a fair soloution , I personally can see it from the perspective of the landlord and whilst it isnt fair on us as long as we meet our obligations it isnt a problem

Now when we viewed the house what seemed like such a long time ago we where given a draft copy of a/the tennancy agreement along with breakdowns of rent etc other information to read over and told this isnt the legally binding agreement and there may be a few changes in the one we actually sign but roughly the terms will be simillar

In the old one there was a clause which stated
    6 . This contract is a set contract between the Tennant/Tennants and the landlord for the period shown on this agreement , if any Tennant/Tennants wish to vacate the Tennancy of the Property stated on this contract then they must find a suitable replacement Tennant/Tennants and pay for or reimburse the Landlord/Agent for any and all cost incurred

Now clause 6 in the new one references directly to Joint and several liability
    6. This contract is a set joint and several contract between the tennants on this agreement