Section 8 notice (rent): what dates to insert?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Section 8 notice (rent): what dates to insert?

Hi all

We need to serve a section 8 to a tenant on grounds 8, 10 & 11.

I'm just very confused when it says 'The court proceedings will not begin until after:_______________', is this the date we sign and date it or does this have to be a ceratin timescale after we have issued???

Also is there a certain date that this has to be issued, i.e. the day their rent was due? or is it an as and when you've given them enough chances to pay and they don't.

I hope this makes sense. I'm new to this business and all help is very much appreciated.

Kind regards

Originally posted by Smith1972 View Post
    Hi all

I'm just very confused when it says 'The court proceedings will not begin until after:_______________', is this the date we sign and date it or does this have to be a ceratin timescale after we have issued???

Also is there a certain date that this has to be issued, i.e. the day their rent was due? or is it an as and when you've given them enough chances to pay and they don't.

I hope this makes sense. I'm new to this business and all help is very much appreciated.

Kind regards
    If you go to the "forms" part of the forum( I think you have to re-register), you can get a pdf of the notes that go with issuing a section 8 notice.
    Allow tenants to protect their own deposits. I want free money when they do it wrong

Comment

Originally posted by Smith1972 View Post

I'm just very confused when it says 'The court proceedings will not begin until after:_______________', is this the date we sign and date it or does this have to be a ceratin timescale after we have issued?
      For an AST/SAT letting, s.8 itself explains the time limits. Here it is (so far as relevant) with my underlinings, since you ask! Your case is within s.8(4B).

(3) A notice under this section is one in the prescribed form informing the tenant that: