Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

AST's term expired, no new let, no-one's collecting our rent

Hi,

I'm a student and have been living in the same property along with 4 other tenants for the past 2 years. For the first year we signed an 11 month contract and paid rent as expected. The contract expired last July. We paid a deposit to secure the property again for the following year but the estate agents didn't make us sign a new contract. We all intend to move out at the end of June and as we still haven't been asked to sign a new contract for the current year or pay any rent, I am wondering where we stand legally? If they ask us to sign a contract now, do we have to sign and pay for the past 10 months? Can they take us to court for unpaid rent if none of us have signed a contract?

Thanks for any replies!

Originally posted by jennyweasley View Post
    Hi,

I'm a student and have been living in the same property along with 4 other tenants for the past 2 years. For the first year we signed an 11 month contract and paid rent as expected. The contract expired last July. We paid a deposit to secure the property again for the following year but the estate agents didn't make us sign a new contract. We all intend to move out at the end of June and as we still haven't been asked to sign a new contract for the current year or pay any rent, I am wondering where we stand legally? If they ask us to sign a contract now, do we have to sign and pay for the past 10 months? Can they take us to court for unpaid rent if none of us have signed a contract?

Thanks for any replies!
    Please confirm : you have been living in the property for one year paying rent and a further 10 months without paying any rent?
    'Pause you who read this, and think for a moment of the long chain of iron or gold, of thorns or flowers, that would never have bound you, but for the formation fo the first link on one memorable day'. Charles Dickens, Great Expectations

Comment