Contract expired with LL - where do we stand RE: Deposit?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract expired with LL - where do we stand RE: Deposit?

Hi all,

I hope someone can help me with a little problem. We fear our landlord will withhold our deposit on a contract that has been expired for 1 year and 1 month. It's a long story that I hope I'll make clear.

My girlfriend and I have been renting a flat from our landlord for 2 years and one month. At the beginning of the contract we paid one month's rent as a deposit. So far, so normal. But, at the end of the year contract, the contract was left to expire. We continued paying the rent out of a contract as we love living there and the landlord didn't prompt us to renew anything. We both forgot the contract was expiring if truth be told. The status quo continued until late last year we gave one month's notice (as per the now expired contract) to move out to a new property. Unfortunately that move fell through and we spoke with the landlord about staying in the flat to which he agreed.

That said, he wanted us to sign a new contract tying us to the flat for at least six months with a 2 month notice period in addition to a rise in rent. We agreed to the rent rise but said we were not happy to sign the contract as it stood with the notice period and break clause as it was.

We waited for a revised contract but with no response. All went quiet.