Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Dispute on returning security deposit

Dear All

I am an international student at here in the UK and I had been staying at a private shared accommodation during the period starting from 11 Sep 2009 till 8 Mar 2010. I had paid a security deposit of GBP 255/(equivalent to one months contract)- to my landlord and signed a contract for a duration of 6 months. I fulfilled my contract and vacated the house and handed over the key to the landlord . Now, after a week since my moving out, my landlord is making false allegations about the condition of the room(about the inherent dampness in the room) and is refusing to pay back the security deposit.He infact started the renovation work even before contacting me. He has send me a bill for GBP 500. I also now realise that the landlord has never handed over to me the TDS certificate. I have confirmed with TDS and the other 2 schemes that he has not protected the deposit. His argument seems to be that it was a rent in advance where as the contract clearly states that the money was held as a security against any potential damages. Could you please help me on how i need to proceed here taking into consideration that i am a foreign student here.
    Thanks in advance
    Jonathan

To add to the above information , TDS also has confirmed he hasnt protected the deposits of any of my ex-house mates
    Thanx in advance
    Jonathan

Comment

The first thing to clarify is if your landlord lived in the same building as you? If he did not, then there was no need for him to put your deposit in a scheme.

If your landlord lived elsewhere - then this letter might help get your deposit back. Please read my notes about the extra landlord penalty which are printed directly above the letter.

http://www.consumeractiongroup.co.uk...ml#post2576374

EDIT: Your housemates could send the same letter, even if they are still living there.

Comment

Than you sir for the quick response .