tenants moving out procedure

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

tenants moving out procedure

I've been managing two properties for 18 months but this is the first moving out process I'm going through and I just want to check I'm doing things right!

I had verbal notice from the tenants some time ago that they would be moving out on the 8th May but nothing in writing. I've since asked them to put something in writing, which they have (this week).

My only concern is that if, for example, worst case scenario, the tenants said they weren't moving out when it came to move-out day, am I in the right position, legally speaking? Or do they have rights to remain if the written notice they gave wasn't early enough?

It probably seems like a no-brainer, common sense situation, the tenants have said they're moving and they've written in down, but I just want to make sure before I sign the next contract!

Thanks

Are you in the right position for what?
    If you are not certain, don't sign a new tenant up until you have vacant possession.
    Allow tenants to protect their own deposits. I want free money when they do it wrong

Comment