Lodger in bad arrears - landlady needs advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Lodger in bad arrears - landlady needs advice

I've been letting rooms in my houseshare for ten years and it is my main income. I try to be a firm but fair landlady and have only come a cropper twice despite having had about 70 people live here over ten years. On those two occasions men got into rent arrears then did a moonlight flit.

Four years ago Annette, a feisty and forthright lady took one of my rooms and said she'd only be there from time to time because she is a respite carer living inside her client's homes. She needs somewhere to call home, to keep her belongings, and where she can go in between jobs. I didn't realise that she'd only spend on average ten nights a YEAR here. Because of this I have never raised her rent above the original £70. As she only comes home about once every three months she's not using any utilities, and to be honest it is so great getting money for a room that is empty 355 days out of 365 that I didn't want to scare her away by increasing the rent. Her bedroom is next to mine, so her not being here means no noise from her room, total privacy for me; one less person using the bathroom and kitchen.

When Annette is here she is a nuisance. She ignores any house rules that don't suit her, including smoking in her room, though this is a no-smoking house (it drifts under the door and wafts up the stairs and landing). She has the tv on all night, coughs very loudly the whole time; brings noisy grandkids to stay; leaves the bathroom in a mess. I never say anything, because it's only ten days a year. Surprisingly, once she has gone, her room does not smell of tobacco at all, as she uses a lot of Febreeze, opens the windows.