Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• UNITE student accomodation: T threatened with eviction

Hi

I just want to say first that i really appreciate any advice any one is able to give me. thank you for reading this.

well, i'm a student in sheffield about to go into my third year. anyway, i signed my tenancy agreement with the accomodation owned by UNITE a few months back, paid my deposit and everything. this agreement started just a few days ago.

now i've got a couple of mates who are in sheffield on work placement till the end of sept. they are also students. but it's not worthwhile for them to get student accom for one month or any private accom (they couldn't for one month). so i decided to let them stay in my flat for the past few nights while i was still back at home with parents. i didnt intend to move into my accom until sometime next week.

anyway, the manager of the accomodation found out that i was letting my mates stay there while i want present. and now the manager is demanding that i have to leave the accomodation by tomorrow. i've only had a few days notice and am panicking to find something else. i'm also feeling physically unwell because of the siatuation...

the manager said that they will find me a replacement tenant if i leave by thursday and only keep my deposit. if i dont leave by thursday, i will have to find a replacement tenant (which includes paying rent until i find someone) and still have to leave. as you can see they are giving me no options, i lose out both way and i dont think this is fair. i honestly feel like im being bullied by the manager and other staff of the accom, who want to see me out.

anyway, i'm a law student and don't think this can be right. can they really tell me to leave like this? can they force me out? was what i did a breach serious enough to terminate the contract?