What TV/Telephone/Internet connections should I provide?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What TV/Telephone/Internet connections should I provide?

I am about to purchase my first BuyToLet property and I would like some advice on what I will reasonably be expected to provide for my tenant in relation to Telephone, TV and internet connections.

The property is new and has TV and Telephone sockets but obviously no connections as yet.

My area will be going over to digital TV in September so this may affect things too.

Please help as I am new at this game!

Hiya,

"The property is new and has TV and Telephone sockets but obviously no connections as yet."

The telephone sockets are usually branded (i.e Cable or BT) which should help you decide! - otherwise you'll have to pay for install (not much these days)

As for what you reasonably expected, I'd say neither - if the tenent wants to have such things installed they will need your permission, but the contract is with them, not the property as far as I know - so i'd leave it with them to be honest

Comment

It's up to the tenant to take out any contract with a cable/satellite TV, phone/broadband provider.

As for what you lay on, it's really up to you. There's no minimum standard and it depends who your target market is. I have two rental flats in central London and let mostly to young professionals who expect broadband and cable/satellite TV. One flat has a BT phone socket and Sky dish, the other has a Virgin Media connection as it's a high rise block and you can't have satellite.