Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tenant in shared house victimised by new arrival

Dear users,

I am a student and have had a nightmare situation happen to me, im really lost and have no idea where to turn to for advice, I hope someone can help me or give me their advice. Heres what happened...i moved into a house near my university last May of 2008 and it was fine. We then had another student move in who was the worst kind to live with..loud music, drunk, left dirty plates out for weeks, never cleaned the place, generally antisocial, verbally abusive and also VIOLENT (he physc
    ically hit me in front of the other flatmates).

I told the landlord i wanted to move out becase this tenant had physically hit me and verbally abused me and my girlfriend. The landlord agreed and then i moved to another house. Of all the houses in the area, this house was the residece of the previous knightmare-tenants girlfriend...so i was stuck with him for a month!!! I couldnt believe it!!!!

I said to the new landlord that i wanted to end my tenancy early [after one month of living there] and he verbally agreed to it. After i moved out into my third flat, the landlord sent a letter to my parents home stating that i owe him for the 6 months rent and if i did not a) pay him or b) find a new tenant then he would call the police, call my university personal tutor and take me to court.

why would he call my personal tutor at university???? can he do this??? why would he want to put a black-mark next to my name???