Must L supply oven in let property?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Must L supply oven in let property?

do landlords have to supply a oven when letting a property?

Do you mean a cooker (i.e. a free standing cooker) or do you mean an oven in a fitted kitched which has a separate hob?

Generally, you do not have to supply a cooker in unfurnished accommodation, but it would be unreasonable to expect a tenant to supply and fit an oven in a fitted kitchen which they could then not take with them when they leave.
    Mrs Jones
    I am not an expert - my posts are my opinion and should not be taken as fact!!

Comment

we have agreed to move end of feb and there is no form of cooker at all, there is room for a freestanding cooker, im just worried that when we move out in the future our next place might have one?

Comment

generally most properties even when let unfurnished do come with a cooker whether freestanding or built in.

Perhaps you can negotiate with the L or LA about them putting one in for you?

Comment

Originally posted by jimmymanvill View Post
          we have agreed to move end of feb and there is no form of cooker at all, there is room for a freestanding cooker, im just worried that when we move out in the future our next place might have one?
          In the last five years, we have moved from furnished to unfurnished and back to furnished again. We had to buy everything to move into the second place, then get rid of it all when we moved to the third. Luckily, current LL rents places as un/furnished and is happy to get rid of items (for a fee, of course ) so we are hoping to restock our supplies and get rid of LLs stuff, slowly replacing it with ours.

You will have to either:
          - successfully negotiate with LL for him/her to put in an oven
          - make sure new place you move to is another place without an oven
          - hope LL will remove oven in new place if there is one