Landlord withholding deposit for repairs/cleaning

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Landlord withholding deposit for repairs/cleaning

Hello, i'm a newbie but i hear this is the place for good advice! if anyone can suggest how best to proceed...

Me and partner moved out of a flat 1 month ago, had been there for 2.5 years and signed a year contract at the beginning of that (apr 06). Guess this means i'm not covered by the Deposit Protection Scheme? we didnt resign anything.

after moving out, landlord inspected flat the wkend after while we were away and then emailed back the next week with a number of issues- carpets needing repair, walls repainting, the cost of professional cleaners etc. (new tenants also moved in that week)

We left the flat looking pretty much spotless,and def cleaner than when we moved in (but stupidly didnt take pics). there were a couple of small things that we know we're liable for, and we said we were happy to cover those costs. But the majority of it is just general wear and tear, or things that have been like that prior to us being there.Plus he only informed us of his decision to have a pro clean after he'd had it done. (is £175 for a small 1 bedroom flat clean about right??)

i've emailed him several times with our objections, he responded at first but then just ignored my counter-points. then today i got an email giving us a breakdown of the alleged costs, saying the remainder of our deposits had been sent as cheques in the post. We've repeatedly asked for receipts for the work done, and also for a copy of an '"Independent Report" that he claimed his decision to use the pro cleaners was based on, but he hasnt sent them.

the total amount that i believe we shouldn't have to pay for is just under £400.