Fixed term expires soon; L refuses to carry-out works

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fixed term expires soon; L refuses to carry-out works

Hello all! I'm new to this forum and new to renting a flat as a whole so need some guidance.

I have been renting a flat since October 2007 from an Agency, tenancy is renewed every 6 months, thus renewal of tenancy is due again on 3rd of October 2008.

It seems that Lanlord likes receiving the rent and won't do anything else.

We had problems with cockroaches and bed bugs, landlord's response was to buy pesticides and that he had nothing to do with it, we had this sorted out by ourselves.

I have previously asked for old mattresses to be replaced (they are old and you can even feel the wires), this was ignored so we got new ones ourselves, we asked for the old mattresses to be removed from premises and so from inventory and Landlord refused this too saying that he has no place where to keep the mattresses, I think there is no need to keep them as they are old and not useful anymore and we intend to live there for the next 1 to 2 years. Now,old mattresses are just taking space in our hall.

Also, we asked for washing machine and fridge to be replaced as they are not working properly, also this request have been refused by landlord.

We haven't given any problems to the landlord, any problem we had in the flat we have sorted out by ourselves, we pay our rent by direct debit and on time, so I can't understand why Lanlord won't even take the old mattresses away! Surely, it's the Landlord's duty to replace washing machine and fridge.

What is more, Landlord has increased the rent.

I'm going to Agency to see if we can get to a negotiation.

I'm thinking of replacing the washing machine and fridge myself (if landlord doesn't change his maind) and ask the agency to remove the old ones from the premises and inventory, but what if Agency refuses this too?