Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Estate agent retaining holding deposit

Hello all,

I was in the final stages of closing on a rental property when i was informed that after further inspection of my financial situation, the landlord had rejected the offer.

To secure the viewing, I overstated my income. I didn't think much of it at the time (it's my first time renting) and didn't think this would be taken as an "official" declaration. It is a legal requirement to provide this information in order to book a viewing? If not, I find it strange they could use this against me.

When it came time to fill out the offer sheet, I was honest regarding my income, I pointed out to the estate agent that I made a mistake and although my declared income is insufficient to qualify, I had a guarantor and the ability to pay a number of months rent in advance. The estate agent advised me to proceed with referencing.

The referencing obviously came back showing insufficient income which lead to the landlord rejecting my offer.

I understand that based on providing misleading I am not entitled to my holding deposit back. However, I believe it shouldn't have got that far. When I pointed out my mistake to the agent they should've stopped the process.

Additionally, I stumbled, via Google, onto information stating they have a week to inform me in writing that my deposit will be retained. I was informed of the landlords decision last Thursday 1pm and was only informed in writing (after repeated chasing) the following Thursday at 4pm! (more than a week?) Is this true? I would like to be able to quote a better source to the estate agent than Google!

I'm happy to admit I made a mistake. I will learn from that going forward. However, this is a well known, reputable estate agent in NW England, I would've expected more from them.

Thanks for reading this far and for any advice offered!

Originally posted by Davethewave View Post