New flat tenants. Where do I stand.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New flat tenants. Where do I stand.

I am new to single flat lettings, I have been an HMO landlord for 15 years though (4x Licensed)

New tenants moved in two weeks ago.

They seem pleasant and polite, referenced well.

It is a landlady with 2 lodgers, she has signed a 12 month NRLA AST.

It is a ground floor flat, 2 rooms at the rear, each with a door directly out into the garden.

I supplied floor mats and placed them by each door, to help catch any dirt from the garden, the property is brand new with new carpets.

I have been in and out finishing off some tasks, and I noticed one of the mats had been thrown out onto the patio being rained on.

I emailed the head tenant/landlady and advised her that I would be fixing the mats down to the floor, and that is where they should remain.

I stuck them to the floor using industrial strength foam tape.

I go in today and find both mats have been ripped up, one Thrown back out onto the patio, and one laid in the hall, with of course the adhesive from the foam tape all entwined in the nice carpet I installed. I felt I couldn't leave it like that, so pulled it up, spent over an hour removing the adhesive from the carpet, and the same from the back of the matt, which is still not clean yet, and sitting in my workshop.

They have also turned off the fans (at the DP isolator SW) in the ensuite bathrooms, these are windowless rooms and really need a flow of air, I installed good quality Humidistat and timer Xpelair fans, so quite quiet. I am concerned the bathrooms will go mouldy if no air circulates. It as a Building Control requirement. I turned them back on when I left.

They've started hanging pictures and stuff on the walls, I did advise a few days ago that I would be more than happy to hang stuff for them

Where do I stand with this.