Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Allowing pets on the condition of taking out pet damage insurance

Hi all,

I’m a journalist writing for an insurance sector trade publication, and I came across Landlord Zone while researching a story.

The piece I’m working on is looking at a proposal to amend the Tenant Fees Act to make pet damage insurance a permitted payment. This would effectively allow landlords to make a tenant’s purchase of pet damage insurance a precondition of bringing a pet into a property, or alternatively allow landlords to bill tenants for the cost of the insurance.

I’m hoping to add a landlord perspective to my piece, and I wondered if anyone would be open to short (5/10 minutes) phone call to share their thoughts on the idea – whether you think this is a workable solution in a situation where tenants want to own pets, and whether you think landlords who currently ban pets would be likely to change their position if insurance was in place?

The focus on the piece is on whether an insurance solution to pets in rented properties is viable and whether it would work for all parties.

If this sounds like something you’d be open to, you can reach me on 02073169284 or at harry.curtis@infopro-digital.com. Alternatively, happy to hear the thoughts of the Landlord Zone community in this topic here.

Thanks,
    Harry

As someone who has allowed pets in the past, who has had tenants have pets without permission and who has had significant damage done by pets kept with and without permission this will not alter my stance of 'no pets'.

There are two ways I envision this insurance working:

1. LL asks tenant to take out a policy. The problem here is that the tenant might cancel the policy or might not want to make a claim when I do or might not be covered for what I think they should so there is no guarantee that this policy would pay out when I needed it to.