Major works vs minor works - when is permission needed?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Major works vs minor works - when is permission needed?

Hi all! this is my first time here so I apologise if this is in the wrong place. I've searched for similar threads but haven't found anything.

I am renting from a large housing association, and I have an assured affordable rent tenancy. I swapped here via mutual exchange two years ago.

There are some changes i want to make in the property, but most urgently I would like to have my kitchen cupboard situation re-jigged so I can fit a dishwasher in. I have a disability that affects my executive function and it's very hard to keep up with the demands of housework as a lone parent without automating as much as I can (my robot hoover is fab but unfortunately he can't do the dishes!).

In my welcome pack there's a vague list of what would be considered minor and major works, with the former not needing permission (things like updating the vinyl flooring and carpets, fitting blinds, changing door handles, painting/decorating etc) and the latter being more structural jobs like extensions and adding/removing walls that would require permission from the HA. However there is no further information on their website, they aren't accepting non-emergency calls currently due to the pandemic, and they take about a fortnight to respond to an email at least. I've tried contacting my property manager on several occasions regarding other things but she doesn't respond to emails (I've been waiting almost 8 months for a response about whether I can apply for a parking space on our road).