Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Can no longer enter the building my apartment is in

Hi all,

I've only just found this forum, so apologies if I'm in the wrong place!

My apartment front door key has always worked correctly. This question is solely about the communal front door.

I am a tenant, and I've been renting this property since November 2019. For this entire time, the communal front door has been broken and non-locking. This means that I have had no reason to use the communal key the landlord gave me.

Recently, the front door was repaired and now locks correctly, however I have learned that my key does not open the door! This means I am now effectively locked out of the building.

I phoned my letting agent, and they told me I would have to contact building management.
    I phoned building management, who offered to send me a communal front key, but said they would have to charge me a lot for it.
    I then phoned my letting agent again, who told me the only offer they can make me is to lend me their front door key, and then I would have to pay someone to cut the key for me.

I can afford to do that if I need to, but I feel like I shouldn't have to? I still have the key they gave me, and it's still in perfect condition - it just doesn't open that door!

My tenancy agreement only stipulates that if I lose or damage the key, I will have to pay for it.

I phoned CAB and they advised sending the letting agent a letter informing them that I am not required to pay for a new key, and they need to provide me with one.

Does anyone have any more specific advice to offer me? Am I actually on the hook to pay for a new key?

Thank you in advance!

------

Here are the "new poster" questions:

Q1 – Where is the rented property located (England / Wales / Scotland / N Ireland)?

:: England

Q2 – What type of Tenancy Agreement (TA) is this e.g. sole tenant / multiple tenant / room only?

:: Sole Tenant

Q3 – What date did current TA start dd/mm/yy?