Advice for a young novice landlord please?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Advice for a young novice landlord please?

Hello everyone, Iam a first year university student here in manchester and recently I was gifted a considerable amount of money to start a business by my parents. Iam a complete novice in landlording but I'm planning on putting a mortagage down on 2 terrace properties just to experiment first. here in manchester and rent it out to students and possibly families. If anyone could provide me with advice of where I should invest in manchester, stuff I should read and how to deal with possibly older tenants due to my young age(I feel really awkward just thinking about it) I would really appreciate it. Iam willing to learn and I'm thankful for any useful advice and input from everyone on here. Thank you!

Do a course on how to be a landlord before absolutely anything. And now is not a good time to invest as a novice.

Comment

If you must buy, buy a suitable house for uni next year and let rooms to your friends - you will save your own rent and learn a lot in the process!
      Unshackled by the chains of idle vanity, A modest manatee, that's me

Comment

Originally posted by Stargazer5201 View Post
        I'm planning on putting a mortagage down on 2 terrace properties just to experiment first.
        Why do you think you'll get a mortgage when you're a student? Do you have a regular income to pay the mortgage in the absence of rent incoming?

here in manchester and rent it out to students and possibly families. If anyone could provide me with advice of where I should invest in manchester,
        You're in a better position to answer this question than the rest of us. You are a student yourself in that area. Where are/would your fellow students look to rent?

(I feel really awkward just thinking about it)
        If that's the case, you should consider seriously whether this would work for you?