AST notice period

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

AST notice period

AST Fixed term ending end February. Agreement says T must give 2 months notice of either wanting a new fixed term or giving up tenancy and leaving. T said last week wanted to stay on but today has given 1 months notice to leave. AST does not state will roll onto periodic after fixed term. Can L hold T to 2 months notice as per AST? Ts last month would be on a SPT. L Willing to be flexible if new T found sooner but difficult as T reluctant for viewings due to Covid. Is 2 months notice enforceable, could L refer to DPS arbitration if necessary?

If I were you, I'd let the T leave, after all if they stop paying rent and continue to live there, you will be out of pocket more than 1 months rent.

Comment

Such X months notice requirement for a fixed term tenancy is almost certainly unenforceable.
      I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

Comment

Let T go and shred the badly worded TA

Comment

Iirc, the terms of the AST are binding on both parties, *until the AST ends.* The day after an AST ends, it is no longer binding on either party. T can just leave on the last day, possibly without even giving notice.

Comment

Okay, there's two different issues here, the tenancy and the contract between the parties.

The fixed term will end at the end of February through effluxion of time. It's a fixed term tenancy, that's the point of it. It's not possible to have a clause which prevents it from happening.