Tenant moved in without knowledge

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Tenant moved in without knowledge

I am new to the renting/letting out field. Apologies for any mistakes.

I hired a managing/letting agent to market my place and do the necessary checks. I opted for a full management service.

I was introduced to the prospective tenants in the office after the agent told me he had done the checks etc.

I did not at any point agree to a specific moving in date. In return, I told the agent that I still had to get a gas safety certificate done and arrange for that. As I believe that needs to be done prior to tenants moving in. The agent also told me he would send me the tenancy agreement to review and sign shortly after.

No such document arrived.

I was under the impression that until I did not review the tenancy agreement, agree to a moving in date which would be dated on the agreement and provided the agent with relevant legal documents (gas etc) that he could not grant possession nor would the agreement be legally binding.

Instead, few days later my agent rings me to ask for my bank details to transfer the rent in. To which I said not yet as I will let you know the date shortly. I was confused as to why the rent had already been paid considering I did not sign any agreement nor agree to moving in date.

After that, I went away for two days to visit a friend. I come back to find the tenants had possession of the keys and were moving in their belongings. I contacted the agent ASAP and arranged to meet him.

I told him I was not made aware that keys had been exchanged and nor did I receive any sort of document to review and sign the agreement. He told me my signature was not important. I was confused.