Help needed, owed compensation?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Help needed, owed compensation?

I'm a student tenant currently who's not had a working fridge freezer for roughly 10 days now. it was reported as broken as soon as we realised, and the maintenance 'forgot' to come until the day after. He informed us this was broke and we needed a new one, nine days later we are still waiting on a new one. I have rang everyday and each day they tell me 'they'll know more tomorrow' they're saying that it's been on order for 10 days but weirdly still have no delivery date and still cannot tell us when it is. My house lost about £50 worth of frozen food due to this and we have not being eating right for the past 10 days without a fridge freezer and not being able to get fresh food everyday due to corona. Can anyone give me any advice on what to do or whether we're entitled to any compensation for the lost goods and pushing on 2 weeks without a working fridge freezer.

You are not entitled to compensation for the contents of the fridge freezer.
    Sh1t happens and you can insure against it, but it's not likely to be anyone's fault.

10 days without is probably pushing it a bit, but times are not usual and getting someone to deliver, install and test something in a student property right now is going to be difficult.
    You've lost a tiny bit of amenity, so you could argue for compensation, but it's going to be a tiny fraction of the rent and I wouldn't bother.
    You

Obviously, if the replacement takes much longer, your case gets a bit stronger.
    When I post, I am expressing an opinion - feel free to disagree, I have been wrong before.
    Please don't act on my suggestions without checking with a grown-up (ideally some kind of expert).

Comment