Scrapping of s21 postponed

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Scrapping of s21 postponed

"Tories postpone pledge to ban no-fault evictions for renters until economy recovers"

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/u...o-b551811.html
    I am not a lawyer, nor am I licensed to provide any regulated advice. None of my posts should be treated as legal or financial advice.

I do not answer questions through private messages which should be posted publicly on the forum.

I would have liked to have read that but getting onto the link without all that faffing around .... well, I gave up in the end

Comment

The usual paywall notice didn't pop up for me, today. The article reads:

"A Conservative manifesto pledge to ban no-fault evictions for renters has been postponed until there is a “stable economic” terrain, a government minister has admitted.

The comments from Christopher Pincher, a housing minister, came amid calls on the government to extend the moratorium on evictions for tenants as the country faces a second wave of the coronavirus pandemic.

Charities and campaigners have also urged no-fault evictions (Section 21 notices) – allowing landlords to serve notice and evict tenants without reason – to be scrapped to alleviate the pressures facing renters.

Boris Johnson vowed to abolish Section 21 at the December election and included the commitment in a proposed Renters’ Reform Bill outlined at the Queen’s Speech following his decisive victory at the ballot box.

When pressed on the commitment, Mr Pincher said the government remains committed to repealing no-fault evictions, but added: “We will do that at the appropriate time when there is a sensible and stable economic and social terrain on which to do it.”

Tim Farron, the Liberal Democrat MP who raised the issue in an urgent question, said the expiration of the eviction ban on Monday would result in the “immediate danger” of thousands of renters losing their homes.