Letting to American student

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Letting to American student

My 2nd BtL property is nearing completion following renovation and would be looking to market it next month. I have recently been asked by a close friend who works at the local University whether I would consider letting to a mature Masters student from the US who is due to come for a year's study starting next month. They are struggling to find anybody who will accept their cat & dog (yep, bit of a strange one to come for a year and have pets in quarantine for a long period, but each to their own!). I have no objection in principle to the pets. Just a quick question really, since I've no experience of letting to anybody from overseas, of anything I need to be aware of? The only thing that springs to mind if to double-check the insurance in relation to FT students, but that aside, are they any other considerations? I'm in Wales so Right to Rent checks are categorically not a consideration - it's unlawful here. I let my previous place via OpenRent so had their contract and referencing package. I'm unsure how referencing would work in this instance.
    Any advice, tips, warnings gratefully received.

Get University to sign a D of G for ther mature Masters student

Comment

This company does international credit checks and advertises on landlordzone;

https://www.tenantverify.co.uk/inter...it-checks.html

You could also contact a letting agent in their home town and pay them to credit reference for you.
      You could phone up and chat to a professor type character reference at their previous uni plus landlord, parents etc.

I've done this without problem in the past and quite enjoyed the whole thing/challenge/job satisfaction.

A warning flag for me though would be the cat and dog in quarantine for 4 months when they only intend staying a year. It's not a good sign of someone who is responsible and organised (sorry).

Comment